I prepared this sorbet about two weeks ago and as I am sat at the table in our kitchen tonight, trying to come up with something to write about it, the only think I can honestly think about is making it again. I seem to remember that the first time I had sorbet was at a wedding. Citrus sorbets between starter and main were all the rage at wedding receptions in the Nineties, weren’t they? From then onwards, I think you could count the times I had sorbet on the fingers of one hand. An apple sorbet comes to mind, I wonder where on earth I was when I had that. Perhaps that was the other wedding I went to. At any rate, sorbets were not exactly at the top of my thoughts, being more of a mouth-washing related product than a dessert. And then, David Lebovitz came and brought us chocolate sorbet. Ok, ok, chocolate sorbet existed before David Lebovitz. But his recipe, taken from his book The Perfect Scoop, has become an internet sensation and I just had to make it. And believe me, you should too. This recipe comes with a warning, though: it’s not the frozen equivalent of your Cadbury’s Dairy Milk bar. It’s intense, deep and a bit on the wild side. And thankfully, it’s most definitely NOT a wedding-style sorbet.

Chocolate, chilli and cinnamon sorbet

Recipe halved and adapted from David Lebovitz, via Smitten Kitchen.

Ingredients
275 gr water
100 gr dark brown sugar
45 gr cocoa powder
1/2 tsp chilli powder*
1/2 tsp cinnamon
pinch of salt
85 gr good quality dark chocolate, chopped

Whisk water, sugar, cocoa powder, chilli powder, cinnamon and salt in a pot until combined. Bring to the boil while stirring and keep it on the heat for just under a minute. Remove the pot from the heat and gently stir in the chopped chocolate. It will melt immediately. Leave the mixture aside until cold. Churn it in your ice cream maker according to the manufacturer’s instructions, then tip it in a freezer-safe container and freeze it for a good two/three hours before serving.

* A note about your chilli powder: you need to know it well before using it in this. Mine is very mild, and has given my sorbet a chilli flavour without the heat. Next time (for there will be a next time, believe me) I might add a pinch of cayenne to guarantee some heat. Better safe than sorry though, so be careful.


