Most people remember their first day of school. New faces, unknown spaces, questions answered. I wonder whether the day before the first day is also one that people remember well. I can picture my younger self staring into the darkness in the pitch black of my bedroom, waiting for tiredness to take me away from all sorts of pre-first day anxieties and expectations shaping up in the dark. When a new school year was fast approaching, I always felt I had the opportunity to start a new me, too. Whether it was a new haircut or a different attitude towards life, I always wanted to change something. I thought it was to impress other people, some new, some that I had known from the previous year, but I realise it probably had more to do with providing a tangible measure that would demonstrate to myself that I had changed and was ready for a new chapter.

Tomorrow it’s the first day of my first, ‘proper’ job. After many years of education, a few gaps, a few jobs in between – some worse than others – I am finally standing on the edge of a new, more grown-up and very exciting, chapter. This time, though, except for buying some smarter outfits, I haven’t made much preparation. I’m not anxious. I have some expectations, but I know they are realistic. In short, I don’t need to demonstrate anything to myself. I know I’m ready for it and can’t wait to start. I feel like tomorrow will come without a break from today and I am ready to welcome this change. My packed lunch is waiting in the fridge. Teabags, mugs, cereal bars and a notepad are ready to be packed into my bag in the morning. I wish I could pack some of this frozen yoghurt too, but I realise that would be logistically tricky to accomplish. Nevertheless, it would make for a delicious and light summer dessert to end my first lunch at work. More tart than sweet, it’s the kind of treat I could easily eat all summer long. A suggestion, though: even if you prefer sweeter desserts, refrain from adding more sugar in the hope of making it more palatable. It’s not lack of sugar that makes it tart, it’s the flavour of plain yoghurt and blackcurrants that does. Accept it and enjoy.

Blackcurrant ripple frozen yoghurt

Frozen treats, previously: Chocolate, chilli and cinnamon sorbet and Apricot and lavender sorbet. Blackcurrants compote adapted, barely, from Hugh Fernley-Whittingstall’s The River Cottage Year. Makes about 800 gr.

Ingredients
400 gr blackcurrants, washed
50 gr caster sugar
400 gr plain, thick yogurt
130 gr caster sugar

Put the blackcurrants and 50 gr of sugar in a pan and cook on medium heat for about 10 minutes. Turn off the heat and let cool. Strain the mixture with a fine mesh sieve, discarding the skins and seeds and keeping the compote. Make sure you sieve it properly and don’t waste the pulp. You should end up with about no more than a tablespoon of skin and seeds to discard. Cool the compote in the fridge. Mix the yoghurt with the 130 gr of sugar until evenly combined. Stir in about 2/3 of the blackcurrants compote and mix until evenly combined. Keep the remaining 1/3 for later. Churn the yoghurt in your ice cream maker according to the manufacturer’s instructions and pour into a freezer container, alternating the frozen yoghurt to the remaining blackcurrant compote, drizzled over with a spoon. Before putting the lid on and firming up the yoghurt in the freezer, gently stir the drizzled compote into the frozen yoghurt with a fork or a knife forming ripples like in the ones in the picture above.


