FC&G_black_pepper_crackers

Someone will have to explain me how it got to December this quickly. It seemed to be October the other day. I went away for just over a week in November – somehow the three other weeks have disappeared. Between some Christmas planning and some work, a concert here and a walk there, the remaining weekends have seen very little activity here on the blog. By the way, I hope that you have all had a lovely autumn. However, I have baked and cooked and have a few good things in store for you. In the meantime, an old and reliable favourite. These crackers, although perhaps not as light as yeast-based ones, are crispy, pretty tasty and have the undeniable advantage of being ready in under an hour. The other advantage is that they are sturdy, even when very thin, so they work vcery well when scooping up all sorts of dips. Depending on your preference and taste, you have almost endless flavouring possibilities here too. I prefer simpler flavourings, but the original recipe calls for a more complex blend of spices, which is equally as good. I hope I’ve given you enough reasons to bookmark this recipe for when you’ll need it. It really is worth saving. Without further ado, I’ll leave you with the recipe – I have an elderflower, lime and rum cocktail right next to me begging for my attention.

FC&G_pepper_grinder FC&G_fennel_seeds_crackers FC&G_black_pepper_crackers_2

Black pepper (or fennel seeds) crackers

Adapted from Our Kitchen

Ingredients
250 gr white spelt flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
black pepper or fennel seeds
115 gr water
25 ml extra virgin olive oil

In a bowl, combine flour, baing powder, salt and spices. Stir until well mixed, then add oil and water. Quickly mix with a spoon, then knead until soft and smooth. Wrap in cling film and refrigerate for at least half an hour or so. In the meantime, preheat the oven to 220°C. I baked the crackers on my baking stone, so if you haven’t got it prepare some baking sheets. On a floured surface, divide the dough into smaller pieces, then roll each of them out as thinly as you can. Our Kitchen suggests using a pasta maker if you have one (I don’t!). Cut them into shapes and bake the crackers in batches until golden at the edges. When cool, store in airtight container.


