FCG_hand_holding_spring_onion_bunch FCG_bay_leaves_in_jar

Today, I’m bringing you an easy, quick and tasty spring recipe. It comes straight to you from my mum’s repertoire, who, unlike my grandmothers, isn’t big on cooking – off the top of my head, I can’t think of more than 5 dishes that I consider ‘hers’ – but the few things that she makes, she makes well. My only addition to her incredibly simple recipe for braised spring, or new, onions is a bay leaf. It infuses the cooking water and gives a gentle aroma to the little liquid leftover at the bottom of the pot.

FCG_braised_onions_thumbnails FCG_braised_onions_pot

As you may notice, the blog has had a little makeover lately. Last week I finally decided to put an end to all those tiny photos which had been annoying me for ages. The new layout is as simple and clean as the old one, but the pictures take centre stage now and all is a little bit more elegant. I couldn’t be happier with the result. Bear with me while I make the last few adjustments in the next few weeks – if you stumble on a post that looks a bit odd, chances are I’m working on it in the background and it’ll look like this one very, very soon. With this, I’ll leave you to what is probably one of the simplest recipes on the blog (hold on, these oranges may well win the round).

FCG_braised_spring_onions

Braised spring onions

Ingredients
a bunch of plump, big spring onions
a tbsp or two of extra virgin olive oil
a bay leaf
salt & pepper

Wash, top and tail the onions. You want to end up with the bulbs only – the stems can be chopped and used in another recipe, or even frozen. Place the oil and onions in a pot, cover with a lid and place on medium heat to sizzle for about 5 minutes. Add the bay leaf, salt and pepper, along with enough water to cover the onions until half-way through their height (if you only have a few onions and the pot is big, use less water). Cover and cook until tender – about 20 minutes. 5 minutes before the end, uncover the pot and let the water evaporate, so you’ll end up with a deliciously reduced cooking liquid. Serve hot.


